Featured Image

Colorado

Allows Medical marijuana?: Yes

Allows Adult-Use marijuana?: Yes

2018 Medical Sales : $394,000,000

2022 Projected Medical Sales : $360,000,000

2018 Adult Use Sales : $1,300,000,000

2022 Projected Adult Use Sales : $2,100,000,000

Noteworthy Information: 
{{COVID-19 Update: adult use and medical stores considered essential, and under emergency rules, can now complete online and telephonic sales transactions to be picked up curbsside. Medical storefronts can remain open with physical distancing measures in place. Medical delivery licenses are just starting to roll out. https://drive.google.com/file/d/1dP2lA2Nnr4_D3_uc4tcH0FyHPaXCrRTr/view Doctors can now issue medical recommendations via virtual visits.}}

Colorado has some of the most extensive experience in terms of administering a robust state regulatory structure. Despite this – and perhaps a bellwether for other states – laws continue to constantly change. A bill allowing delivery of regulated marijuana by regulated marijuana sellers was recently introduced in the House.

Is there a Regulatory Structure? (State Agency): Yes (Colorado Department of Revenue, Marijuana Enforcement Division)

# of Dispensaries Allowed (# issued): no limit
(Medical: 468 Issued)
(Retail: 553 Issued)

# of Cultivations Allowed (# issued): no limit
(Medical: 662 Issued)
(Retail: 716 Issued)

# of Manufacturers Allowed (# issued): no limit
(Medical: 238 Issued)
(Retail: 285 Issued)

# of Testing labs Allowed (# issued): no limit
(Medical: 11 Issued)
(Retail: 12 Issued) 

Geographic Distribution of Licenses: No mandated distribution

Application Fee: 

New Retail Store= $4,500
New Retail Cultivation= $4,000
New Retail Manufacturer=$4,000
New Retail Testing= $2,000
Retail Renewal Fee= $1,800 (additional $500 if late)
Retail Marijuana Transporter License Fee= $4,900 (2-year license)
Retail Marijuana Establishment Operator License Fee= $2,700

New Medical Center Type 1 (1-300 patients)= $9,000
New Medical Center Type 2 (301-500 patients)= $16,000
New Medical Center Type 3 (501 or more patients)= $22,000
New Medical Cultivation= $2,500
New Medical Manufacturer= $2,500
New Medical Testing= $2,500
Medical Marijuana Transporter Application Fee= $5,400
Medical Marijuana Business Operator Registration Application Fee= $2,500

Medical Center Converting to Retail Store= $250
Medical Center Adding Retail Store= $2,250
Medical Cultivation Converting to Retail Cultivation= $250
Medical Cultivation Adding Retail Cultivation= $1,750
Medical Manufacturer Converting to Retail Manufacturer= $250
Medical Manufacturer Adding Retail Manufacturer= $1,750

Affiliated Interest that is not an Indirect Beneficial Interest Owner-$200.00
Commercially Reasonable Royalty Interest Holder receiving more than 30 percent of the gross revenue or gross profit from the sales of the product or lines of products subject to the royalty -$400.00
Commercially Reasonable Royalty Interest Holder receiving less than or equal to 30 percent of the gross revenue or gross profit from the sales of the product or lines of product subject to the royalty -$200.00
Permitted Economic Interest -$400.00
Profit Sharing Plan Employee -$200.00
Qualified Limited Passive Investor: 
a. Standard limited initial background check -$75.00
b. Full background check for reasonable cause -$125.00
Qualified Institutional Investor -$200.00

Licensing Fees: 
Renewal Fees:
Retail Store= $1,800
Retail Cultivation (up to 1800 plants)= $1,800
Additional Fees For Extended Plant Count 
Tier 2: $2,900
Tier 3: $3,600
Tier 4: $5,100
Tier 5: $7,100
Each Additional Tier over Tier 5= $800 per +3,600 plants
Retail Manufacturer= $1,800
Retail Testing= $1,800
Retail Marijuana Transporter License Fee= $4,700 (2-yr)
Retail Marijuana Operator= $2,2500

Medical Center Type 1 (1-300 patients)= $2,300
Medical Center Type 2 (301-500 patients)= $5,300
Medical Center Type 3 (501 or more patients)= $7,300
Medical Cultivation= $1,800
Medical Manufacturer= $1,800
Medical Testing= $1,800
Medical Marijuana Transporter License Fee= $4,700 (2-yr)
Medical Marijuana Business Operator Registration= $2,500
Medical Marijuana Transporter Off Premises Storage Permit= $2,200

Medical Center Converting to Retail Store= $250 Application
Medical Center Adding Retail Store= $2,500
Medical Cultivation Converting to Retail Cultivation= N/A
Medical Cultivation Adding Retail Cultivation= $1,750
Medical Manufacturer Converting to Retail Manufacturer= N/A
Medical Manufacturer Adding Retail manufacturer= $1,750

Permitted Economic interest= N/A
Vendor Registration= N/A
Direct Beneficial Interest Owner Fees:
a.Colorado Resident Associated Key License -$800.00
b.Non-Resident Associated Key License
i.Upon request for finding of suitability -$5,000.00
ii.Following finding of suitability -$75.00

Residency Requirements: 
Yes

Vertical Integration Allowed, Required or Prohibited: 
Recreational: Allowed but not required
Medical: Required (exception: 70/30 Rule)

Medical Marijuana Qualifying Patient Conditions: 
1. Cancer
2. Glaucoma
3. HIV or AIDS
4. Cachexia
5. Persistent muscle spasms
6. Seizures
7. Severe nausea
8. Severe pain
9. Post Traumatic Stress Disorder (PTSD)

Testing Required: 
Yes

LEAVE A REPLY

Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here