Featured Image


Allows Medical marijuana?: Yes

Allows Adult-Use marijuana?: No

2018 Medical Sales : $58,000,000

2022 Projected Medical Sales : $120,000,000

2018 Adult Use Sales : N/A

2022 Projected Adult Use Sales : N/A

Noteworthy Information: 
{{COVID-19 Update: Medical cannabis businesses deemed essential and allowed to remain open. https://governor.hawaii.gov/wp-content/uploads/2020/03/2003162-ATG_Third-Supplementary-Proclamation-for-COVID-19-signed.pdf }}

Hawaii has a new law that is projected to go into effect on January 11, 2020, stating that a resident can have up to three grams of cannabis without facing jail time, with the potential of paying up to a $130 fine. Hawaii became the first state to pass medical cannabis by legislature in 2000 but access was a challenge. A dispensary program was passed in 2015. The state does not allow for voter referendum; the legislature is the only mechanism for passing cannabis laws. Various parts of the program have since been expanded, such as allowing registered nurses with prescriptive authority to write recommendations, allowing the university to do cannabis research, and tax guidance. Several qualifying conditions have been added over the years. Hawaii’s first dispensaries opened in the summer of 2017.

Is there a Regulatory Structure? (State Agency): Yes (State of Hawaii Department of Health, Medical Marijuana Dispensary Program)

# of Dispensaries Allowed (# issued): 8 Dispensary Licenses allowed. (8 issued)

Each dispensary license is allowed to operate up to two production centers and 2 retail-dispensing locations.

May authorize additional licenses.

# of Cultivations Allowed (# issued): none separate

# of Manufacturers Allowed (# issued): none separate

# of Testing labs Allowed (# issued): (3 issued)

Geographic Distribution of Licenses: City & County of Honolulu= 3 licenses County of Hawaii= 2 licenses County of Maui= 2 licenses County of Kauai= 1 license

Application Fee: 
Dispensary Application Fee= $5,000

Licensing Fees: 
Dispensary License Initial Fee=$75,000
Dispensary License Renewal Fee=$50,000
Testing Laboratory Certification Fee= $3,000
Testing Laboratory Certification Renewal Fee= $3,000

Residency Requirements: 
Yes (An applicant must be a legal resident of the state for not less than 5 years preceding the date of application & at least 51% of the entity must be owned by legal Hawaii residents or entities wholly controlled by legal Hawaii Residents)

Vertical Integration Allowed, Required or Prohibited: 

Medical Marijuana Qualifying Patient Conditions: 
Amyotrophic Lateral Sclerosis (added effective December 19, 2017 as per the petition process)
Lupus (added effective June 29, 2017 as per Act 041, SHL 2017)
Epilepsy (added effective June 29, 2017 as per Act 041, SHL 2017)
Multiple Sclerosis (added effective June 29, 2017 as per Act 041, SHL 2017)
Rheumatoid Arthritis (added effective June 29, 2017 as per Act 041, SHL 2017)
Positive status for human immunodeficiency virus,
Acquired immune deficiency syndrome,
Post-traumatic stress disorder (added effective July 1, 2015 as per Act 241, SLH 2015), or
“The treatment of these conditions”, or
“A chronic or debilitating disease or medical condition or its treatment that produces one or more of the following:
Cachexia or wasting syndrome,
Severe pain,
Severe nausea,
Seizures, including those characteristic of epilepsy, or
Severe and persistent muscle spasms, including those characteristic of multiple sclerosis or Crohn’s disease.

Testing Required: 


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here